MAGIP Awards

The Montana Association of Geographic Professionals (MAGIP) biannually presents awards to recognize individuals who have made a significant contribution to the organization, the profession, and community in the areas of Distinguished Service and Professional Livability.

The Distinguished Service Award is presented for long-term service and leadership to the Montana GIS community and the GIS profession.

The GIS Professional Livability Award recognizes an individual's measurable contribution to the application of GIS, thus improving the quality of life within their community.

Submit your Nomination Here

The deadline for submissions is February 29, 2024

Each nomination requires a one-page letter of nomination, two references who also support the nomination, and any supporting documentation. The awards will be presented at the Big Sky GeoCon dinner on Wednesday, April 7, 2024 in Billings.

Questions? Contact Erich Schreier2024 Conference Liaison

Award Criteria

Applicants for the Distinguished Service Award must: 

  • Have substantial years of service (10+) in or supporting the Montana GIS Community and a desire to continue to serve
  • Displays exemplary accomplishments as a GIS Professional, selfless service to the profession and participation in committees, workgroups, and organizations that support the Montana geospatial community
  • Has an impact within and / or external to the realm of the member's workplace
  • Undertakes and leads activities that benefit the GIS Community outside of regular job responsibilities
  • Demonstrates initiative, resourcefulness and creativity and is willing to seek out and pursue new challenges that benefit the Montana GIS Profession
  • Acknowledged by his / her peers for leadership and substantial service to the profession and community

Applicants for the Livability Award must:

  • Demonstrate a measurable contribution to the education, communication, coordination, and application of GIS technologies that have been a major influence to the growth and use of GIS in creating a more livable community
  • Express exemplary dedication with focus to the development and implementation of GIS technologies which enhance individual and community life and promote the efficient use of community resources
  • Acknowledged by his \ her peers for perseverance with belief and purpose; tasking themselves with the growth, as well as the challenges of GIS development for them and for their neighbor...sometimes in the face of discouragement

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee is an Ad Hoc Committee formed under the MAGIP Conference Committee. This committee is convened every two years, notified and formed by the current MAGIP Conference Liaison.
 Five representatives make up the committee, which includes: 
  • Two (2) previous year winners of the Distinguished Service / Livability award
  • Two (2) former award recipients
  • One (1) representative of the Conference Committee (Conference Liaison)  

Previous Award Recipients

Distinguished Service (2000 - Present)
2018 - Meghan Burns
2016 - Catherine Maynard, Ph.D.
2014 - Lance Clampitt
2012 - RJ Zimmer
2010 - Duane Lund
2010 - Annette Cabrera
2008 - Stu Kirkpatrick
2006 - Bryant Ralston
2004 - Duane Anderson
2002 - Gerry Daumiller
2000 - Mike Sweet

Professional Livability (2008 - Present)
2022 - Mike Snook

2018 - Jon Henderson

2016 - Eric Spangenberg
2014 - Clinton "Van" Shelhamer
2012 - Denny Rea
2008 - Ken Wall

Special Appreciation (2010)

2022 - Michelle Quinn

2010 - Janet Cornish

2010 - Erin Geraghty
2010 - Lee Macholz
2010 - Kris Larson

GIS in Education (2000 - 2006)
2006 - Paul Wilson
2004 - Margie Lubinski
2002 - Gretchen Baldus
2000 - Kris Larson

© Montana Association of Geographic Information Professionals

MAGIP is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization in Montana

Full Scope Association and Event Management

1236 North Ave. W, Missoula, MT  59801

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software